There has been a lot of talk about hemp wraps lately. They're a fashionable and natural substitute for traditional blunt and joint wraps. But are they vegan? The answer might surprise you.
First, let's look at what hemp wraps are and what it means to be vegan?
Hemp wraps are natural and unprocessed substitutes for rolling paper. They're made from the cannabis sativa plant, also known as hemp or marijuana. There's no THC in these products, just pure hemp that has been harvested and manufactured into a wrap.
Veganism is a lifestyle that excludes all animal products, by-products, and slave labor. Many vegans also exclude the use of animals for clothing or any other purpose. For example, Vegans do not wear leather, fur, or wool. They'll also avoid meat, eggs, seafood, and dairy products, as well as avoiding companies who test on animals.
Blunt wraps are normally made from processed tobacco leaves, lactose (milk), vegan glue, and often cellulose which is plant material created through the compression of plant fibers.
The majority of hemp wraps available right now are made from a very thin layer of natural hemp. This sheet is then embossed with pre-made designs, usually featuring marijuana leaves or blunt leaves. The wrap itself is extremely close to the thickness of a tortilla, and most brands use a colorful paper band to denote each flavor.
As of right now, hemp wraps are 100% vegan-friendly. However, there is a common practice in the industry that is counteractive to this claim. Blunt wraps are often made with natural flavors or menthol, which are not derived from vegan sources. Some may contain dairy products that negate the entire vegan idea behind hemp wraps. Be sure to check the label of any brand you are considering before purchasing.